All yoga sessions no matter what style will include the following


Universal Morality

Yamas is the first limb of the 8 limb path of yoga and connects us with our universal morality. These principles help guide us in relation to others. Students will learn how ahimsa, compassion and non-vilolence; satya, honesty; asteya, non-stealing, brahmacharya, sense control; and aparigraha, letting go of the desire to hoard can be observed on and off the mat.  


Laws of Personal Observance

Niyamas are the second limb of the 8 limb path of yoga and connect us with our personal practices. These personal observances help guide us in our relationship with ourselves. These practices include sauca, purity of the body and mind; santosa, contentment; tapas, disciplined energy; dharma, divine purpose or path; svadhyaya, self-study; and isvara pranidhana, celebration and contemplation of spirit. 


Physical practice to sit in stillness

Asana is the third limb of yoga. Asana refers to the physical postures of yoga as it pertains to the body. These postures prepare the body to sit in stillness. Moving with mindfulness and conscious breathing creates space for the mind to become silent and discover your truth.


Breath control

Prana- meaning life force energy, or breath and -yama meaning to retain. Pranayama means to control or retain the breath. When you learn to control the breath you learn to control the fluctuations of the mind. 


Control of the senses

The 5th limb is Pratyahara, or sensory contol. Students will learn how to let go of snesory attchments on the mat by learning how to draw theier sense inward and fcus solely on the breath. When we practice this on the mat we learn to withrough from thing that nourish the senses to the point of overload. 


Single-focused Concentration

This is your item description. Use this space to add a description of the services, products, team members or any other items you want to highlight on your site. Have a lot to say? Easily turn any item into a full page by clicking ‘Create a page from this item’ in the edit panel.

What type of yoga do you teach?

I teach Hatha yoga. All yoga is Hatha-based.  Ha- meaning sun; and -tha meaning moon; Hatha yoga is a series of postures that help to balance the masculine (sun) and feminine (moon) energies that we all carry with us regardless o gender. From Hatha yoga came many other styles that we see here in Western culture. I offer these styles as a means to help my clients heal on a deep energetic level. 

Read More